PHOTOGRAPHY: Abergavenny Town 0-2 Cardiff Metropolitan – 14/04/2019

CAMERA: Canon EOS 6D Mark II

Lens: Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM Lens

I positioned myself at either end for both forty five minutes halves. Using equipment I had got used to, I was content with my shoot.

My images ended up being used for publication on the Football Association of Wales website after they deemed them acceptable.

I obtained this opportunity by applying for accreditation.

This fixture was played in the afternoon with no floodlights available, should it have carried on into the evening.

There weren’t many match action images that I was impressed with. The subjects tended to have their eyes not fully open or looking away from the camera. There wasn’t an image where you could tell the emotion in their face.

However, due to the nature of the game, it was a Cup final, which allowed for better celebration pictures.

Having submitted images from a Cup final last year, I was content with my images then, with a majority being used as an advertisement for the second year.

The celebration pictures worked well, however, due to my lack of confidence I was unable to get each subject to look at my lens due to a number of photographers being at the game.

In my four images, I selected for publication social media, I was hopeful that the ball could be in frame more for the second shot. The subject and her defender are in the subject, however, due to the speed of the ball (the camera shot being shot at (1/1000) I perhaps should have allowed for more time by pushing umps shutter speed to capture the ball better.

The celebration image I was most content with and used for submission was the first image. In the second two images, you are able to see more faces which bring in the emotion.

I chose the first one for submission as I believe the framing was to the best of my ability. I was working behind a restricted space due to broadcasting rules.

Squad photos are hard to obtain given the number of players who could be involved in the picture. In this case, I had just a 6D, which I found harder to process images, meaning that I had a long wait when taking images.

This was a problem I encountered, especially during the trophy lift. The camera needed time to process, when I could have captured a better picture with a faster processor.

Embed from Getty Images

Looking at this image taken by Catherine Ivill at the Women’s FA Cup Final, I’ve unintendedly shot an image which is similar to Catherine’s.

It’s not necessarily a shot which would be a back page image, however, it could be used due to it being shot as an abstract image.

 

Leave a comment